The NAACP Albemarle-Charlottesville Branch serves the community in various ways. Most of the branch’s work is performed through the dedicated work of committees. Current committees and chairpersons are listed below. If you are interested in serving, please contact us.


 The NAACP Albemarle-Charlottesville Branch is led by a dedicated group of volunteers serving in various capacities.

The officers and members of the Executive Committee for 2019 are as follows:

President: Janette Martin
1st Vice-President:  Leslie Harris Scott
2nd Vice-President: Lance Blakey
Secretary:  Lynn M. Boyd
Assistant Secretary: B.J. Santos
Treasurer: B.J. Santos
Assistant Treasurer: Marcha Howard
Executive Committee Members-At-Large:  Berdell Fleming and L.D. Perry


The primary work of the NAACP is done through active branch standing committees—of the 19 standing committees, at least 17 should be active: Communications, Community Coordination, Economic Development, Health, Religious Affairs, Press and Publicity, Labor and Industry, Life Membership, Education, Legal Redress, Housing, Finance, Freedom Funds, Political Action, Youth Work, WIN.


Sponsor – Pamela Jackson  Co-Sponsor – Leslie Harris Scott

The Committee is charged with:

1)stimulating the participation of young adults in all activities and leadership within the branch;

2)stimulating interest through advocacy training and soliciting membership;

3)providing networking and social opportunities for young adults in the local community; and

4)encouraging the participation of young adults in all activities and leadership within the branch.

Communications Press and Publicity
Chair: Lance Blakey
The Committee on Communications, Press and Publicity 1) seeks to promote media content consistent with fundamental NAACP goals which include the elimination of racial isolation and fear and the furtherance of multiracial and cultural understanding;

2) works to eliminate employment segregation and discrimination in those industries comprising the communications arts and sciences (including radio, telephone, television, motion pictures, newspapers, books, related computer communications, business, cable television);

3) endeavors to secure publicity for the work of the Unit and the Association in the local press and on radio, television and other media;

4) attempts to interest persons in charge of local news media on conditions affecting minority groups; and

5) seeks to counteract derogatory and erroneous statements in the local news media about Blacks and other minority groups.

Community Engagement

Chair – Vacant at present

The Committee on Community Coordination enlists the support of other community organizations on issues affecting the interests of African Americans and other communities of color.

Education Committee
Chair: Diane McNeal,
Members: Sylvia Elder;  Berdell Fleming; Saman Dashti

Responsibilities of the Education Committee:

1) seeks to eliminate segregation and other discriminatory practices in public education ;

2) studies local educational conditions affecting minority groups;

3) investigates the public school system and zoning; 4) familiarizes itself with textbook material therefrom which is racially derogatory;

5) seeks to stimulate school attendance;

6) keeps informed of school conditions and strives to correct abuses where found;

7)  investigates the effects of standardized and high stakes testing practices;

8)monitors teacher certification;

9) promotes parental involvement in education; and

10) aims to be a center of popular education on the race question and on the work of the Association.

Freedom Fund Committee
Chair:  Lynn Boyd
Members: B.J. Santos, Pamela Jackson, Linda McGee

The Freedom Fund Committee plans and conducts fund raising activities, entertainment and other projects, for local and national purposes within the scope of the Association’s program. It works closely with the Finance Committee.

Health Committee

Chair:  Gregory Winston

Committee members:  Raynell Stokes, Philip Cobb, Bridget Moss, Greg Gelburd

Responsibilities of the Health Committee:

1) works to promote, protect, and maintain the health of African Americans;

2) assesses the health needs of the community;

3) advocates the equal access to health education, care, treatment and research for all Americans;

4) sponsors health – related activities such as a forum, fairs and workshops highlighting issues of importance to people of color; and

5) supports health initiatives of the Association.

Legal Redress Committee
Chair:M. Rick Turner

Members:  L.D.  Perry, Janette B. Martin
The Legal Redress Committee:

1) investigates all cases reported to it;

2) supervises all litigation in which the Unit is interested; and

3) keeps the National Office and the Branch informed in the progress of every case.

The Committee does not give legal advice.

Chair:  Marcha P. Howard

Members:  The Executive Committee

Responsibilities of the Membership Committee: 1) works throughout the year to maintain and increase the membership of the Association;

2) is responsible for planning and organizing the annual membership campaign;

3) is responsible on a continuous basis for soliciting new membership and for securing renewals; and

4) initiates all possible means to obtain Life Members and sponsors a continuing program towards this end.

Political Action Committee

Chair:  Vacant at present

The Political Action Committee:

Responsibilities of the Political Action Committee

1) seeks to increase registration and voting;

2) works for the enactment of municipal, state and federal legislation designed to improve the educational, political and economic status of minority groups;

3) seeks the repeal of racially discriminatory legislation;

4) works to improve the administration of justice;

5)works to secure equal enforcement of the law; and

6) keeps the National Office and the Unit informed of all proposed legislation which affects minority groups.

The Committee is nonpartisan and does not endorse candidates for public office.