Family Photo Day

Saturday, March 9, from 10:00 am to 3:00 pm
The Jefferson School African American Heritage Center
233 4th St NW, Charlottesville 

Bring in old family photos from the 1880s to the 1950s for a free appraisal. 
Learn how to preserve your photos (free archival materials provided).
Contribute  your family stories to local history
Have a Holsinger style family portrait taken

View 500+ portraits of local African-Americans and learn more about Charlottesville area’s past through the photographs of the R.W. Holsinger/University Studio collection

The Jefferson School African American Heritage Center is located on the Second floor of the Jefferson School City Center. Its main entrance is on Commerce St, one-block north of West Main Street. It can also be entered from the City Center’s 4th Street entrance.  Over 200 free parking spaces on 4th Street.


The Melanoids

The Law School is installing its “Everyday People” on Monday February 4th  on the second floor of the University of Virginia Law library.  This mosaic of roughly 100 photographs highlights the contribution of black students, staff, and faculty to the everyday fabric of life at the University law school from 1950 to the present. It will run for the month of February.


Upcoming Events



at the Zion Baptist Church,
1015 Preston Avenue, Charlottesville

Click here to download Ms. Delores McQuinn Flier and Biographical summary


Jazz Jamboree
Saturday, February 23 from 7:00 to 10:30 PM

at The Center, 491 Hillsdale Drive, Charlottesville.
Admission $20
Cash Bar

Celebrating the music of African-American Jazz Greats
Music by Michael Elswick and Company,
Featuring vocalist Nadine Michel

Click here to download the FESTIVAL FLYER

RESOLUTION on qualifications to run for office in this branch



BE IT RESOLVED by the Albemarle-Charlottesville NAACP Branch 7057, pursuant to Article VIII.2.a of the Bylaws for Units of the NAACP, that the following minimum qualifications must be met before individuals shall be eligible to run for the offices designated in this resolution.  These minimum qualifications supplement the qualifications set forth in Article VI.2.b of the Bylaws for Units of the NAACP, and those qualifications remain in full force and effect.  

Any person standing for election to the office of President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer must, by April 1 of the election year, have completed at least twelve months service in this Branch as a member of the Executive Committee or as a member of a standing committee of the Branch.  The term of service of twelve months can be divided among committees, so long as the aggregated total service is twelve months or more.  

Any person standing for the office of [to be determined by Executive Committee] must have [to be determined by Executive Committee]

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, pursuant to Article VIII.1.b of the Bylaws for Units of the NAACP, that Albemarle-Charlottesville NAACP Branch 7057 shall, at the regular election of the Branch, elect two members at large to serve on the Executive Committee.  

ADOPTED by vote of the Executive Committee this 27th day of August, 2018.  

Janette B. Martin, President

CLick here to download a copy of this RESOLUTION